An Oscar here, a Grammy there…But what makes you a real winner?

While I realize the Oscars have come and gone last night, as well as the Grammy’s, I do want to go back in time, not too far, just to the evening of the Grammys to share a thought that occured to me last night.

The host of the Oscars Seth McFarlane began the evening softly mocking the value of even receiving these awards by referencing last year’s Best Actor Jean Dujardin from “The Artist” It is presumed that when you win, all of life’s limitations will be removed from you and all the doors of Hollywood will open wide, but that doesn’t always necessarily happen.

So what does it mean to win an award? It means that you did work that is worthy of recognition. That you created something that affected people in a profound way. That you told a story either through song or film or art that needed to be told and you gave voice to someone who normally wouldn’t or were able to have vision yet to be conceived.

During the evening of the Grammys I attend my very first Grammy Party in Queen Creek. A dear friend of mine, Andre Dre Ducati Payton was nominated in a category for writing and I cannot tell you how proud I was of him. I know the passion and time he pours into everything and to be nominated is such an honor. When you really sit down and think about how many millions of people out in the world are making music, to even be noticed, much less selected as one of the top in the world, is quite astounding. Image

Though Dre didn’t win this one, I looked around that room at all of the people, family and friends that gathered together that evening to support this man’s accomplishment and as his wife stood by his side and thanked every one for coming she said the exact words that already filled my heart. “He is still in a winner in all of our hearts.”

While I’m sure it would be some mean bragging rights to have  case full of Grammy Awards on display, this man had all the winnings any one person could dream of – a loving home filled with happy souls that would forever support him through anything and everything , the wins and the losses, the ups and the downs.

I could tell he was disappointed, who would blame him, but he immediately had a smile on his face and expressed that attitude that got him to this point in the first place. He’s a Grammy-nominated artist and that can never be taken away from him. Plus he’s been getting request after request to work on A-lister’s albums now.

I wish all of the recent winners this year the utmost success and happiness, but I do so hope that they do not lose sight of who and what is really important, not just the little gold man they’ll be locking in their closet. One thing I thought was super cool was that Dre actually had the opportunity to go to the Grammy’s but because he could only take one guest, he chose to stay home to share the experience with all of his loved ones. How awesome is that?

I have no doubt that one day I’ll be seeing Dre up on that stage accepting his award, but I also know that won’t change him a bit and that is what I love most about him!

Image Image

Leave a Reply

